Fountainhead


Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life

Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wanted to write about my experience with the Fountainhead immediately after I completed reading the book. I couldn’t. Its occurrence in The newspapers twice in
a day and that too in a negative light drew me to the Notepad. It must be the gratitude I feel towards Ayn Rand that required of me to come out of my comfort zone and
voice my protest against what The Hindu called “a deeply unrealistic fantasy novel.”

It may sound too extreme, my suggesting that This novel be made part of the students’ curriculum. It is my brain’s corollary to everyone should read it. But then I
am reminded school age is too naive for the objectivism theory Fountainhead talks about so passionately. The fact remains it advocates the terms selfish and egotist
in their purest form. The moral values books feed kids with a totally manipulated form of selfishness than this book refers to. The question rises, if not in school
then when ? why to give them waste and then replace it with meaningful things when Direct supply is available? It is the killing of a time when the brain is in its
most fertile form. A time that does not support replacing.

It is the characters and their perception of life that binds the novel. The story is secondary. I wonder if Bollywood will ever b able to grasp the idea. Interestingly,
Hollywood did make a movie on Fountainhead.

As of my gratitude towards the author, It mostly rises from the approval that this book provided to my thoughts those were always there but too ‘out of league’ to be talked with people of my age and too ‘revolting’ to b mentioned before elders. Ironically, seeking others approval is in itself a trait this book does not approve of.

I would have been more than happy to write the gist of the 700 pages novel only if I could. There is so much to it, I wonder, different people derive different lessons from it.

The Hindu wrote if Ayn Rands theory were to b implemented, The Great Depression is not far away. This might b because Howard

Cover of "The Fountainhead"

Cover of The Fountainhead

 

roark, the male protagonist of the novel, blasts a housing project for the poor ‘coz the designs he had made for the project were tampered with. The jury took a decision in his favor, ‘not guilty’. The novel is full of such unconservative incidents. They will be justified once you read it.

I strongly recommend it to all Indians. We are a confused lot. Lost somewhere between the society-proclaimed-morally-corrrect and what our desires want of us.

It will b a great help. Do read it!

5 thoughts on “Fountainhead

  1. Being a consistent reader of your blogs, i should say that till now this one is the best..u have expressed your feelings very powerfully,and the best part is, readers who have or have not yet read fountainhead have no choice but to agree with ur description, which i consider as one of the finest qualities that a writer should posses.
    I want to add some more comments but time doesn’t permits,so in short, Very Beautifully written, Kudos..Hoping to see lot more like this in future. πŸ™‚

  2. Agree with you !! πŸ™‚ But the idea of this novel being introduced in the school curriculum is same as Dominic thinkin of Howards work in public, people won’t realize its greatness and besides school education focus on ‘passing the exam’ not on the learning part so it would be a waste of such a master piece !! πŸ™‚
    Nicely written blog btw, clear and conveys the meaning effectively ! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

